Microsoft Hyper-V Server 2012 for fun

In wanted to test an upgrade from SCCM 2012 SP1 to R2 as I couldn’t find much info on how to do this yet. I also wanted to play around with Microsoft Hyper-V Server 2012. We had a nice Sun server laying around that has 90GB of RAM and seems like a waste to be sitting there, so I installed Hyper-V 2012 on it.

There is only two 120GB SAS drives in the server and since it is just for stuffing around I put them in a RAID0. Install was simple. Configuration is easy too as it has a basic CLI interface. Enabled Remote Access in moments and started managing it from my Windows 8 machine.

I had some issues connecting to ISOs that were located on my machine but that was just security settings on my machine. I just added the Hyper-V server to the Administrators group and then it worked fine, not the most secure way to do it but it’s just for testing.

I then discovered we have a NAS laying around that was a few years old. It is an Iomega StorCenter ix4-200r. I attempted to use it with the StorCenter software but it was being a pain. I downloaded FreeNAS and used that instead. It worked without having to make any changes. Once the NAS was setup in a RAID10 with a single CIFS share I then moved all the Hyper-V storage to that. I have run into a problem with moving the storage though. I was unable to completely move the VMs because I was getting this error:

VM Storage Move Failure

VM Storage Move Failure

It moves all the storage successfully but doesn’t move the configuration file. I have looked around and couldn’t find a fix for it besides creating a new VM and attaching the moved Virtual HD.

Now that it is all running I have a nice little test environment. Prior to the NAS install I had tested the SCCM update and it went well. I have now updated our SCCM to 2012 R2.

I replaced the RAM in the NAS to bring it up to 4GB. Unfortunately the NAS has an old chipset that only supports 4GB max. This definitely improved the performance though.

Leave a Reply

