14 thoughts on “Accessing your modem from OpenWRT Router

    1. Make sure the IP address you assign to the “modem” interface is not the same as the actual modem IP address. In the example above, it’s one decimal value away. You may also need to reboot the DSL modem, then the router, and flush your browser cache. Try using telnet or SSH to connect to the modem before you try HTTP access, to rule out strange browser behavior.

  1. Thanks a lot of the tutorial! It helped me to connect to a remote vdsl router that i share to my home throught wifi links about 6km away.
    I use pppoe call to the vdsl modem so my openwrt router to handle my network better. But had trouble connecting to the vdsl router web menu so to maker reboots or check stats.
    The trick here with the second interface fixed this.Would you mind explaing it a little bit.

    thanks again

  2. Also doesn’t work for me. Set everything up, modem IP is 192.168.1.253 in OpenWRT (real IP is 192.168.1.254) and and OpenWRT is 192.168.100.1. Going to both 192.168.1.253 and 192.168.100.1 just opens LuCI

  3. Thank you!!! Worked great with an ARRIS BGW210-700. As in your updated example, the LAN IPv4 address must be something other than 192.168.1.1 (the ARRIS address). Since I had already created a bunch of 192.168.1.x static addresses, I tried to apply 192.168.10.1 to the new modem interface rather than the LAN, but this didn’t work. So I had to change the out-of-box OpenWRT LAN address instead, and now everything works great after updating my OpenWRT static addresses to match the new LAN range.

Leave a comment